## **MUSIC DEPARTMENT**

Chairperson: Grace Xia Zhao

Regular Faculty: Reed Gratz, Michael Ryan, Grace Xia Zhao

Adjunct Faculty: Steve Alaniz, Michael Boos, Homero Chavez, Zachary DeChance, Robert Dominguez, Andrew Ford, Anita Hanawalt, Matthew Keating, Jason Lo, Sylvia Mann, Ariel Pisturino, Greg Smith, Tatiana Thibodeaux, Courtney Taylor, Jackie Yu, Mike Zonshine

Artist-in-Residence: Todd Strange

The mission of the Music Department is to provide students opportunities to experience a broad spectrum of music from diverse cultures and global perspectives. Through the courses and performances offered by the department, students will develop critical understanding of artistic expression as an essential part of life and learn skills fundamental to musicians today.

Students may choose a major or minor with a concentration in education, performance, history, or theory/composition, or they may complete a BA in Music degree without a concentration.

While we dedicate ourselves to preparing students to pursue music as a profession, we also believe that all students regardless of major, will be effective leaders in their communities and professions when enriched with the opportunity to explore and develop their personal musical talents and creative imagination. As part of the University's mission, the Music Department invites and encourages students majoring in other areas to participate in all classes, ensembles, and applied lessons.

## **Program Offerings**

## **Majors**

 Music (BA) (https://laverne-public.courseleaf.com/college-artssciences/undergraduate/music-department/music-ba/)

## Minors

 Music Minor (https://laverne-public.courseleaf.com/college-artssciences/undergraduate/music-department/music-minor/)